Executive Recruitment

About the Council

The local authority area sits over two parliamentary constituencies, Rossendale and Darwen in the South and Blackburn in the North; in the 2017 general election they were returned Conservative and Labour respectively.

The borough comprises of 23 electoral wards which are served by 64 elected members. The borough operates a Leader and Executive model of governance and currently the Labour group leads and fills all seats on the authority’s executive board. 

It should be noted however that the borough’s electoral arrangements are currently under review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, with new wards due to be elected to in an ‘all out’ election in May 2018.

Aside from the borough council the area is also home to six parish councils and these are:

You can view the Council Structure Chart here.

For more information on the Council, click here.